Congratulations to the Isle of Wigt Surf Club for winning 4 of the 5 divisions and the overall club trophy at the 2011 South Coast Surfing Championships.

Well done to Matt Harwood and all the IOW Surf Club team for putting on a fantastic event. Also a huge thank you to Graham Taplin head judge and Raff and James Cave for judging to. Thanks to Claire and Amanda Crook for admin, and Bobby DK and Jamie Whittle for marshalling, Oliver Harvey and Nick Martin for organising, James Ranson and Chris Mannion for water safety. Thanks to Rapanui, Monster, Wight Trash and Island surf for prizes and to Paul Knight for making the trophies. Also thanks to Monster for the bbq and drinks and not forgetting all the competitors who did the South Coast proud in very difficult and heavy conditions and thank you to all the spectators who braved the weather.

Winner – 2011 Open South Coast Surfing Champion – James Ranson – IOW Surf Club

Winner – 2011 Masters South Coast Surfing Champion – Joe Truman – IOW Surf Club

Winner – 2011 Longboard South Coast Surfing Champion – Al Reed – IOW Surf Club

Winner – 2011 Junior Boys South Coast Surfing Champion – Robin Forrest – IOW Surf Club

Winner – 2011 Junior Girls South Coast Surfing Champion –  Lucy Howell – Shore Surf Club

The Wight Surf History are pleased to have been a part of the 2011 South Coast Surfing Championships, gaining funding from the West Wight Landscape Partnership for judges, banners, stickers and t-shirts for all competitors. A big thank you to the WWLP from Wight Surf History and the IOW Surf Club.