QUIKSILVER BRITISH SURF CHAMPIONSHIPS 28-29 AUGUST 2010! Results and press release.


Twenty-five year old goofy-footer Johnny Fryer put on a dazzling display of surfing at Newquay’s Fistral Beach this weekend to claim his maiden British title.

Johnny surfed consistently throughout the event in the small but very contestable surf.  He showed his true competitive spirit and knowledge to be crowned British champion, and took home a Gibson Les Paul Studio guitar as the champion’s trophy. Jayce Robinson & Oli Adams both surfed well in the final but it was Johnny’s day.

There was some tough competition this year especially from the new generation of younger surfers. Surfers like Luke Dillon and Toby Donachie were exceptional standouts. Head judge Ester Spears said “Toby’s powerful, mature surfing was a joy to watch and surely a great hope for future British surfing success.”

The Quiksilver British Nationals was run over the course of the weekend in beautiful weather with over one hundred competitors competing for the prestigious title of British champion in the seniors, women’s, masters, veterans and stand-up paddle boarding divisions.

Against the odds the waves increased in size overnight on Saturday and spectators were treated to a feast of surfing in blazing sunshine as the event reached its climax on Sunday.

Once again the improvement in women’s surfing was evident at this year’s event.  It was to be a second British title in succession for Sarah Beardmore. Sarah’s clean cut style and radical approach earned her the crown from fellow competitors Nicole Morgan, Jo Dennison and British junior team member Tassy Swallow.

Newquay’s Tony Good took his first veteran title from Colin Bright in a well fought battle.  Also fro m Newquay the multiple times British champion Lee Bartlett once again proved to be unbeatable taking both the masters and senior titles to add to his very long list of victories.

This was also the the first time that a British Surf Contest was streamed live to the iphone over a cellular network thanks to Tiger 24.  It’s a great way to push the sport and make it easily accessible to everyone out there.

In addition to the Quiksilver British Surf Championships, DC joined in on the action with 2 expression sessions won by Rueben Ash & Micah Lester.  DC & Monster Energy kept the crowds entertained between heats with skate demos on the Monster Energy skate ramp by Pro skaters Sam Bosworth, Dan Mc Dermott, and Sam Pulley.

In between all the heats, expression sessions, and skateboard demos, Gibson Guitar hosted the Quiksessions music stage where local bands played live on the beach all weekend – with the best band set to win £1000 of Quiksilver gear.  The line up included The Last of the Pilots, The Dappers, Sam Burrows, The Sum Off, and Alyssa Podesta, joined also by Quiksilver artists I Am Giant and Charlotte O’Connor.  The level of bands was at a high standard and difficult to make a call, but The Last of the Pilots came through on top with a great performance at the start of the event.

Joanne Hillman of the British Surfing Association said: “I’d like to say a big thank you to Quiksilver, Tiger 24, Gibson, DC shoes, Monster and Fistral Beach Bar for their generous sponsorship, to all the competitors for putting on a great show, and to all the staff who helped with the smooth running of the event. Every year the event just seems to be getting bigger and better.”

2010 Quiksilver British Nationals
1.        Tony Good
2.        Colin Bright
3.        Jed Stone
4.        Robert Green

Sup Final
1.        Chris Griffiths
2.        Alex Murray
3.        Jim Richardson
4.        Adam Zervais

1.        Lee Bartlett
2.        Greg Owen
3.        Tyson Greenway
4.        Cully Murrell

1.        Lee Bartlett
2.        Eugene Tollemarche
3.        Tyson Greenway
4.        Greg Owen

1.        Sarah Beardmore
2.        Nicole Morgan
3.        Joanne Dennison
4.        Tassy Swallows

1.        Johnny Fryer
2.        Oli Adams
3.        Jayce Robinson
4.        Toby Donachie

Thanks to Joanne Hillman for sending us the press release from the BSA.

Photos: Will Bailey